i am His child.

Last night i did not want to go to church.  Netflix and Chinese food in bed was infinitely more appealing.  But as a general rule, when my attitude toward church attendance becomes bitter, i know i had better get my butt to church.  
And so it was begrudgingly that i made the trip to Austin High for the 7 o’clock service.

Just when i thought i had my attitude in check, a group of no less than 20 sorority girls were in MY spot!  My entitlement in that moment quickly gave way to rage and I seriously considered leaving.  After all, this church thing is all about ME, isn’t it?  I was there to get what I needed, and what I needed was the comfort of routine.  Right?!

WRONG.

Thankfully, the Lord has blessed me with a man who can kill my self-righteousness with a look and squelch my childish outbursts with a hushed warning.  I spent the next few minutes in prayer and by the time the worship band took the stage I had regained my composure and found my rage replaced with peace.

I entered worship with a hungry heart.  And the Lord did not disappoint.
The first song we sang was one with a simple chorus.  It says, “Oh, you’re never letting go.  For I am your child, and you are my King.  Oh, you’re never letting go.  I am your child, and you are my King forever.”

That’s it.  A Sunday school truth synced to a catchy melody.  And it wrecked.my.world.

It wasn’t the profound mystery of the love of Christ that he would hold on to us forever and continuously lead us into his Kingdom that really struck me.  While i absolutely cling to this truth, it did not stick out to me as an unusual thing to sing about.  The line that really got to me was the repeated utterance of “I am your child.”

Think about the oddity of that statement as an act of worship for a minute.
With these four words, we seem to be proclaiming something about ourselves rather than God.  What a strange way to offer him praise.

Have you ever been so overwhelmed by love or respect for your earthly parents that you have expressed your joy by saying, “Mom, I am your child!!”?  Probably not.  That would be an unnatural way to interact with our parents.  Because….DUH!  We would be far more likely to say, “You’re the world’s greatest mom, Mom!”  

But being children of God is a much different thing.  When we praise God by saying, “I am your child!” it is so much more than a statement of obvious fact.  It is a statement of awe, relief, and submission.  It is a proclamation of Christian identity.  By this, we are saying, “My true identity is that of your child.  I am overwhelmed by the fact that you rescued me out of my undeserving filth.  I am relieved that you are committed to Fathering me.  And I accept your place of authority in my life.”  To say to God, “You are the best dad ever!” is still a beautiful act of worship.  We should always praise God for who HE is.  But how much more personal is it to praise him for who he has made US?

As i was thinking more about this today, i began to ponder other titles that are commonly ascribed to the Holy Trinity and how those characteristics also shape who i am.  What i realized was breathtaking.

God is:
Father
Healer
Creator
Sovereign
Just
Loving
Holy

i am:
Daughter
Complete
Masterpiece
Accounted for
Righteous
Loved
Worshiper


Christ is:
Saviour
Shepherd
King
Bridegroom
Lover
Friend
Intercessor

i am:
Redeemed
Preciously sought after
Submissive
Bride
Romanced
Free
Protected


Holy Spirit is:
Present
Peace
Conviction
Helper
Power

i am:
NOT alone
Peaceful
Aware
in Need
Powerful


When my self is defined by the Lord, i find that i lack nothing.
And so i proclaim with unfathomable joy, “Oh, you’re never letting go.  I AM YOUR CHILD, and YOU ARE MY KING….forever.”

One thought on “i am His child.

Join in the discussion!

