Psalm 63:1-8

this is a scripture that speaks powerfully to me, and it has brought me great peace lately.  in bold you will find the Biblical words of king david.  in the lighter color, my own thoughts.  i would love to know how these verses speak to you.

(1) O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
 
O God, you are my God!  God of Creation, THE God, eternal and sovereign over all…. and still you are a personal God to me.  you enjoy my company.  you chose me and adopted me from the bonds of death.  you love me with patience and with discipline.  you deal with me in a way that is unique to me and to our own private relationship.  you speak to me in ways that i can understand.  your love is tailored to the secret places of my heart.
 
i am desperate for you.  to look upon me, to comfort me, to SAVE me.  you are the air to my drowning body.  i gasp for you frantically.  there is no other way for me.  you alone can sustain my fragile life.  and when i surface from the deep, you are there to refresh my weary lungs.
 
O, Father, how i need you!  and how you then restore me!  in the desert of my soul, in my scorched and broken flesh, you come to me with healing.  you have led me to a cool and sparkling spring when a pool of bitter rain water would have far sufficed.  and with a touch to my parched and pleading lips, i am fully replenished.  only let me stay and drink forever!
(2) So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory.
 
i have meditated upon you in the place of worship.  i have been taught of your mighty works and brought up to wonder at your grace.
 
i have communed with you in the quietness of the morning and wrestled with you in the dark of night.  your power is known to me.
 
i have sought your face and found you among the created things.  in lilies, your beauty shines.  in sparrows, your majesty unfolds.  in the touch of a friend, in the joy of a mother, in the wisdom of a father, in the whisper of a lover…. your glory is everywhere!  you are splendid and marvelous to behold!
 
 
(3) Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you.
(4) So I will bless you as long as I live; in your name I will lift up my hands.
 
your love for me is always the same.  it does not change with the seasons or ebb with the shifting tide.  and this love, steadfast and divine, gives more meaning to my existence than even my own life.  my breath is worthless by comparison.  and so my lips will praise you because you have been faithful and worthy of my praise!
 
let not one day come and go that i do not humble myself before you in reverent worship.  and as a child to a trusted parent, i will lift my hands to you in adoration.
 
 
(5) My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips,
(6) when I remember you upon my bed, and meditate on you in the watches of the night;
(7) for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.
 
your love to my soul is a king’s feast.
why do you lavish me so?
i am showered with decadence meant for royalty when i, myself, am merely a peasant.
 
i am not worthy to enter your courts, and yet you have seated me at the table, clothed and crowned princess.
how can my mouth do anything but shout your holiness when from a full and satisfied belly my praises arise?
 
when night falls, i will remember what you have done for me…. how you have pulled me from the depths and restored me to a place in your Kingdom.
and when once more my enemies are nye, still i will remember your works.
even as they are fast approaching, within your power there is a place of solace for me.
 
for i am content to dwell in shadows, Lord, if it is you who casts them upon me.
yes, it is here that i have made my home.
and in this massive overflow of Glory, i will sing of my Great God.
 
 
(8) My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.
 
you have made yourself known to me, and i cannot depart from your presence.
you have spoken over my life, and so it will be.
in all the days to come, i will rest in the palm of your sovereignty.
 
 

Join in the discussion!

